HISTORY OF SUDBURY GASWORKS

Sudbury gasworks was built in 1874 by renowned architect George Devey, famed for his work on many country estates, including commissions for the Rothschild family.

The picturesque building produced gas from coal which was piped to Sudbury Hall, as well as many houses in the village, until the 1930s. The building now stands empty, with noticeable deterioration.